Full Assertion Launched By 11 Ruling APC Northern Governors Asking Buhari To Decide Southern Presidential Aspirant

Eleven northern governors have backed a southern aspirant for the ruling All Progressives Congress. This

Eleven northern governors have backed a southern aspirant for the ruling All Progressives Congress.

This led Jigawa State Governor, Abubakar Badaru, to withdraw from the presidential race, in line with an announcement from the governors on Saturday evening.

The governors who signed the assertion embrace; Bello Masari, Katsina; Nasir El-Rufai, Kaduna; Atiku Bagudu, Kebbi; Simon Lalong, Plateau; Abdullahi Ganduje, Kano; Bello Matawalle, Zamfara; Inuwa Yahaya, Gombe; Babagana Zulum, Borno; Sani Bello, Niger; and Abdullahi Sule, Nasarawa.


Right here is the Full Assertion by Northern States’ APC Governors and Political Leaders


APC governors and political leaders from the northern states of Nigeria right now met to evaluation the political scenario and to additional assist our Social gathering in offering progressive management amidst our nationwide challenges. Throughout our discussions, we welcomed President Muhammadu Buhari’s invitation to governors and different stakeholders to contribute to the emergence of a robust presidential candidate for the APC. 

After cautious deliberation, we want to state our agency conviction that after eight years in workplace of President Muhammadu Buhari, the presidential candidate of the APC for the 2023 elections needs to be considered one of our teeming members from the southern states of Nigeria. It’s a query of honour for the APC, an obligation that isn’t in anyway affected by the selections taken by one other political celebration. We affirm that upholding this precept is within the curiosity of constructing a stronger, extra united and extra progressive nation.

We due to this fact want to strongly suggest to President Muhammadu Buhari that the seek for a successor because the APC’s presidential candidate be restricted to our compatriots from the southern states. We enchantment to all aspirants from the northern states to withdraw within the nationwide curiosity and permit solely the aspirants from the south to proceed to the primaries. We’re delighted by the choice of our esteemed colleague, His Excellency, Governor Abubakar Badaru to contribute to this patriotic quest by withdrawing his presidential aspiration. 

See also  Uvalde Mayor Slams Beto as ‘Sick Son of a B*tch’ for Interrupting Gathering to Mourn Faculty Capturing Victims

The APC has an obligation to make sure that the 2023 elections provide a nation-building second, reaffirming {that a} democratic pathway to energy exists for all who worth cooperation and construct nationwide platforms. This second requires essentially the most sober and inclusive strategy to choosing our celebration’s candidate, and we name on all APC leaders to fulfil their duty on this regard.


Signed, 4th June 2022:

1. Aminu Bello Masari Governor of Katsina State

2. Abubakar Sani Bello Governor of Niger State

3. Abdullahi A. Sule Governor of Nasarawa State

4. Prof. B.G. Umara Zulum Governor of Borno State

5. Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai Governor of Kaduna State

6. Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya Governor of Gombe State

7. Bello M. Matawalle Governor of Zamfara State

8. Simon Bako Lalong Governor of Plateau State

9. Senator Aliyu Wamakko Former Governor of Sokoto State

10. Dr. A.U. Ganduje Governor of Kano State

11. Senator Abubakar Atiku Bagudu Governor of Kebbi State